I received these beauties in my CSA share from Picadilly Farms. I had no idea what to do with them. Salsa came up as the most predominant suggestion. With the cool fall weather,  I had no interest in making salsa. I started cutting them up to saute in a tofu scramble and tasted a piece. What a pleasant surprise. They were so sweet and mild, almost like eating fruit.

Tomatillo, Leek and Tofu Scramble

1 cup of sliced leeks

3 tomatillos, sliced

8 ounces of firm tofu

1/2 tsp tumeric

1/2 tsp cumin

1 Tbs ume vinegar

1 Tbs soy sauce

Saute leeks and tomatillo in olive oil until leeks are transparent. Crumble tofu over mixture, add seasonings and cook for 2 minutes. Cover pan, reduce heat and cook an additional 5 minutes.

To serve, sprinkle each serving with cilantro and slices of avocado.

