Last month I had a chance to visit all my Stamp Club friends to show them how I transformed some papers into new backgrounds for cards. It all started when I found some really bright yellow paper in my card making stash.

Using something this primary is not my personal style.First I stamped the paper with two Impression Obsession “Cover a Card” background stamps using a rose and green chalk ink. Next I stamped a leaf pattern in the same green ink and edged the sides of the paper in green and orange inks.

Here is the result.  I mounted it on card stock, added some embellishment and had a finished card.

Here is another example, this time of  patterned paper I had that just wasn’t calling “Choose me, use me!” in any way.

With this paper I used a couple of shades of matte acrylic paint applied very thinly so that the ghost of the original patter shows through. Next I used another Impression Obsession “Cover a Card” background stamp over the acrylic layers for this result.

This softer pastel background is something I will definitely use in a card.

The rest of the evening was spent with the stamp club members experimenting with making their own background. The results were pretty spectacular. Don’t always settle for what you are given if it’s not resinating with you.

To quote Miss Piggy, “To say ‘Less is More” is ridiculous. Obviously More is more!’

