Biddeford Pool Beach at Sunset

Biddeford Pool Beach at Sunset

sandal

I just returned from a week at the beach, an experience shared with my sisters. Although the weather was uneven, is there anything more magical than walking the beach whether it’s sunny, foggy, raining, morning or dusk? We enjoyed all of those options this week.

lily

Fishing by a Quarter Moon

Fishing by a Quarter Moon

Nevertheless, I was happy to return because it was Farmer’s Market day in town. The Marie Joseph Center, where we stayed, had a rather uninspired choice of vegetables at meal times. The Market, on the other hand, was a visual symphony of choices. There were local white peaches, sweet tiny plums, kolrabe, carrots, beets, green beans, fingerling potatoes, kale, pink and white cauliflower, patty pan squash, and zucchini. In my rapture I may have over bought a bit. I made vegetables in red thai curry for dinner.

This week's Bounty

This week's Bounty

Just before I left for vacation, I had taken a Vegan Al Fresco cooking class with Emilie Hardman at the Cambridge Center for Adult Education. I was thinking about Charred Vegetables with Creamy Tarragon Dip and Rosemary-Scented Peach Raspberry Upside Down Cake during my buying frenzy. This was the second class I had taken with Emilie. Every picnic food recipe was a hit.

I love setting up my kitchen to prepare a meal. Getting out my non skid cutting board, honing my very sharp knife, and finally chopping and preparing. It’s as satisfying as sitting down to eat the final preparation. That started me to thinking this morning as I read Michael Pollan’s article “Out of the Kitchen, Onto the Couch” in this Sunday’s New York Times Magazine section of my “cooking history”. He starts with his fond memories of watching Julia Childs shows on PBS as a child.

I got my copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking as a graduation present from MGH from Betsy’s parents. How I embraced that book and cooking in general. I spent the next 20 years cooking all manner of food with a sense of adventure. Then somehow things changed as a busy work and leisure life style and the convenience of processes or ready made foods took over. My cooking or lack thereof and my diet went through many evolutions. I feel like I have come full circle. I’m back in the kitchen.

I’ll leave you with a quote from Mr. Pollan’s artcle:

“Because it’s hard to imagine ever reforming the American way of eating or, for that matter, the American food system unless millions of Americans — women and men — are willing to make cooking a part of daily life. The path to a diet of fresher, unprocessed food, not to mention to a revitalized local-food economy, passes straight through the home kitchen.”

